Jones Act Waiver Further Extended by Trump Administration

Image Courtesy: ABC News

The Trump administration is extending a waiver of the Jones Act to provide relief of fuel shortages resulting from Hurricanes Harvey and Irma.

The waiver, which was signed on September 8 allowed gasoline and other refined products to move between US ports on foreign-flagged vessels for a period of 7 days.

Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Acting Secretary Elaine Duke extended the waiver, to last through September 22.

According to DHS, the extended waiver will facilitate movement of refined petroleum products such as gasoline, diesel, and jet fuel, to be shipped from New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, Pennsylvania, New Mexico, Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Arkansas to Florida, Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, and Puerto Rico.